top of page

'ROMA NOIR' Exploring Light in the Eternal City


I recently had my first photographic exhibition in Australia at Gallery 88 in Queensland. The printing aspect to digital images was something I had not experienced until this exhibition. I am glad I had the opportunity. To see a digital image printed on paper and hung on a wall is a satisfying experience. You realise you have created a single artifact that can be shared by others. Getting off a digital screen is a liberating feeling and reintroduces you to the way all photographs were once viewed. There is a lot I have to learn about printing, another dimension of the digital process.

The show featured my interpretation of Rome's incredible light. Inspired by the Italian painter Caravaggio's intense chiaroscuro lighting I sought out naturally occuring compositions in the streets of Rome. In winter the light is extemely sharp creating intense shadows in the tiny Roman streets. The deep blue sky assists the B&W conversion, and with a little fine tuning to take out the mid tones highlights & shadows I created a stricking neo noir look.


RECENT POSTS

ARCHIVE POSTS

bottom of page